Home » crafts » Summer of No Pants – Let it begin!

Summer of No Pants – Let it begin!

A couple of months ago, I stumbled on the Summer of No Pants 2011 on several blogs.  I completely missed it in 2011, but that’s no reason why I can’t do my SONP in 2012.  I am an alright sewer, but I really do want to get better at it.  I have sewn most of the curtains in my house, as well as a couple of decorative things – pillows and the like.  I have made a couple of skirts before, but they are not perfect, and I want to develop my skills.  Hence my going for this challenge.

For those not familiar with the SONP challenge, the goal is to make enough skirts/dresses, to not have to wear pants this summer.  I am going to go for a skirt a week until summer.  Since I am a teacher, my summer begins in about 5 weeks, but I will try to keep going until the official start of summer, June 20.  That gives me about 8 weeks.  Should be fun!

Here is my first skirt:

 

It was love at first sight with the fabric, and I know this would be the first skirt I made for the challenge.  I also hope to wear it to my friend’s wedding reception tomorrow night 🙂

This was my first try at a zipper, and although it is not perfect, I think it turned out pretty good.

 

Here is the view from the front (I think the waist could use a bit of tailoring):

 

and the side:

 

It was easy enough to make.  I used Sew What Skirts  as a guide.  This is a really useful book if you are like me, and don’t really get how to use patterns.  I am really pleased with how it turned out, and looking forward to continuing this challenge 🙂  Anyone up for joining me in the SONP 2012?

5 thoughts on “Summer of No Pants – Let it begin!

  1. Pretty! What fabric is that? It is too chilly in th summer here in the uk to pledge to wear only skirts, but I like the idea. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

