Home » crafts » SONP Skirt #2

SONP Skirt #2

Ever wonder what would happen if you stop looking at Pinterest and actually make something you found there?  Last weekend I made this skirt inspired by this tutorial, found on my pinterest.

I made quite a few adjustments to the original tutorial, for better or worse.  I was a bit hasty in cutting the original pieces of material, and they were not quite big enough.  Solution – I kept the front piece and decided to do 2 panels for the back, with the zipper in the middle instead of the side.  This also changed how I did the hem strips, but they worked out okay.  The very back has a hook and eye that is very crooked, but will hardly be noticed (I hope).  Here are a couple of pics of me wearing it.


Thanks for looking and playing along.  I may try this style of skirt again, but I am not sure all the work is worth it just to avoid a hem.  I really don’t mind hemming.  Next, I will be working on a circle skirt – I bought a really playful polka dot silk charmeuse for it, and I can’t wait.  My hubby is out of town this weekend, so it will probably be quite craft-acular!

Until next time!

7 thoughts on “SONP Skirt #2

  1. Just discovered your blog, very nice! Pinterest is so addictive isn’t it?! Love the skirts, I prefer it with the changes you made to the original tutorial…less flouncy.

  2. Hey Louanne it looks great!!! Love the material!! Looking forward to seeing the circle skirt. I think I want to do one! Happy sewing.

    • I love your version! Really like the colors you chose 🙂 I agree the tutorial was a bit difficult, although, may have been better for me if I had taken better measurements before cutting the fabric. You should check out the book, “Sew What! Skirts” by Francesca Denhartog and Carole Ann Camp – It gives GREAT advice for sewing without a pattern, and making your own patterns.

      • I’m not actually sure I’d make any more skirts as I don’t actually wear them. What I prefer is making bags. Weirdly, I’m not really that into bags either. I think I just like the idea of them. At the moment I’d settle for making anything – I also have a hankering to make some bunting but really don’t have time.

Leave a Reply

