Home » sewing » SONP Skirt #3 – Circle Skirt

SONP Skirt #3 – Circle Skirt

This skirt was definitely a learning experience.  Trial and error abounds!  I think it turned out really cute.  Here are pictures –

Here are the things I learned while making this skirt:

1. The size of your needle is really important!

2. When sewing elastic, and it is going to show – match your thread to the elastic.

3. A zigzag stitch does not add a decorative touch to elastic – it just makes it bunch weirdly.

4. The circumference (hem) of a 27″ diameter (length of the skirt+waist) takes a LONG time to sew!

5. Silk Charmeuse is a very delicate material.

6. Your bobbin (Okay, maybe just my bobbin) will always run out of thread approximately 4″ before the end of your project 🙂

Like I said, I have taken on this challenge in order to learn more about sewing and making clothes.  Although none of these skirts are perfect, I am getting better with each one, and I am definitely learning! 🙂

9 thoughts on “SONP Skirt #3 – Circle Skirt

  1. That is so pretty. I know what you mean about learning as you go along. I’ve just about sussed straight lines using my machine but am quite pleased with what I’ve made despite it’s faults (see mrsmmakes.wordpress.com).
    Maybe one day I’ll be able to attempt projects like this!

    • Thanks! I started with lots of straight lines by making all the curtains in my house (with a LOT of guidance and help from my mom), and have slowly moved up. I like your crochet hook bag. Very cute 🙂

  2. Number 6 is so, so true. Achingly so. In fact, I’m going to go and weep in the corner before I wind the bobbin for my next project, just to get it over and done with. 😉

  3. Yes, sometimes those hems seem like they are never-ending. I handstitched the hem of my daughter’s wedding dress (including chapel-length train) … the hem was one LONG piece of the same silk of the dress that I cut on the bias and also weighted with a horsehair band … it took a LONG time, as you can imagine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

