Home » amigurumi » Goals for 2013

Goals for 2013

Here we are at the end of another year. Christmas is all packed up and ready to put in the attic.

DSCN1134

 

I am ready to celebrate the incoming New Year! While I feel like 2012 was a pretty good year, there are some changes I would like to make in 2013. I don’t like to call them resolutions, because it sounds too formal, and I do not know ANYONE who ever keeps their “resolutions.”

Reading – I am in a monthly book club (the Marga-Readers), and I usually (but not always) read the book for discussion. We read some great stuff, but I also get distracted by my personal reading. My goal for this year is to read all the books, and to read one other book each month for a total of 24 books. If I turn off the TV, it should be manageable, lol. First month – Exodus and Witch and Wizard: The Gift

Cooking – I am a great cook. I can be a lazy cook. I would like to prepare more meals, but do it smartly, so there are leftovers for those days when I am too tired from work (READ: Thursdays). I would like to use the fabulous new slow-cooker I received from my in-laws.

CROCKPOT!!

CROCKPOT!!

I also need to figure out a more efficient and organized way of planning meals and grocery shopping. I don’t like grocery shopping, lol. Who knows, I may even be able to get a few of my recipes up here before the year is out!

Eating – I need to eat healthier. I was way sicker in 2012 than I have been since my first year of teaching. I know that sometimes getting sick is unavoidable (especially as a teacher), but I do not always eat the healthiest I can. My goal is to eat a fruit and/or a vegetable with every single meal, even (GASP!) breakfast.

Fitness – I am going to get in better shape this year. I signed up to do a 5K run/walk on January 12. I will do my best at it, and then want to spend the year getting better. I plan to sign-up for a 5K each month to track my progress. I will also try to walk my dog at least 5 days each week.

Cleaning/Organization – This is something I am naturally good at, but this time of year, things tend to get a bit cluttered. I like to start a new year clean. I will clean my house top to bottom. I will reorganize things. I will purge my closet, my books, etc. and give things away to Mission Arlington. Also, my office, which doubles as a studio for private cello lessons and as a craft storage area, looks like a disaster zone! I must remedy that. Before and after pics of the new storage/organization ideas coming soon, but here is a sneak peak of the wreckage for now 🙂

collage

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2013

Leave a Reply

