Home » crafts » Progress

Progress

Yesterday and today I am working on organizing my yarn/crafting/sewing/cello studio space, and it is coming along swimmingly. Although, I will say, at first, it felt like I was drowning! Especially in the closet, so that is where I started.  Here it was before I started:

DSCN1139DSCN1140DSCN1138

Ack! Fabric closet from hell!

Ack! Fabric closet from hell!

More yarn (it is EVERYWHERE!)

More yarn (it is EVERYWHERE!)

I broke down about a dozen boxes that I will use to ship amis, and put them in the closet out of the way. I was able to reorganize my yarn stash using the vertical shoe organizers (about $9 from Target). I put the white/black/gray in the first one (the newest one) and then followed the ROY G. BIV method of organizing the colors. I took all of my crochet hooks, knitting needles and findings and am working on finding them a better home (pun intended).

Color coordinated and organized!

Color coordinated and organized!

Then I got all of my fabric stash out and went through it! What a job, it took me 3 hours to sort and organize. I am donating a bunch of scraps to a quilting group, and some larger pieces to Goodwill, where I know someone will be able to put them to good use. What I kept I organized using Comic Book Backing Boards (generously donated to Lou’s Labors by my friend and neighbor Skylar Chastain). These are basically very precisely cut posterboard, but the work is already done, and you can get a pack of 100 for about $8-10. Buy them on Amazon or at your local comic book store.

Looks so nice all put on boards!

Looks so nice all put on boards!

Fabric closet cleaned up so you can see the sewing machine and serger :)

Fabric closet cleaned up so you can see the sewing machine and serger 🙂

Fat quarters and smaller yardage hanging on cookie sheets attached to hangers

Fat quarters and smaller yardage hanging on cookie sheets attached to hangers

I still have to get some baskets to organize my findings, buttons, beads, etc., but we are well on the way.

Still to do

Still to do

One more thing, I am doing another Craft Swap! My above mentioned friend, Skylar, made me a gadget wallet to accompany my pending iPhone purchase (yes, I know, I am late to the party, but we had some student loan debt to settle first 🙂 ). It will also hold other media including headphones, flash drives, memory cards, etc! I am really happy with the way it turned out!

media storage closed

Gadget storage closed

Gadget storage open

Gadget storage open

I will be making her a… I guess you will have to stay tuned to see 🙂

2 thoughts on “Progress

Leave a Reply

