Home » Crochet » Scarf for my mom/playing with sock weight yarn

Scarf for my mom/playing with sock weight yarn

Most of the things I have crocheted have been with worsted weight or heavier (bulky, super bulky) weight yarns. I have really gotten pretty good with these thicker yarns and quite enjoy working with them. I always like a challenge, and love trying new things, so when my wonderful mother asked for a scarf that she could wear throughout the day, I jumped at the chance to try my hand at some thinner weight yarns! So we took a trip to our favorite craft store which we have affectionately dubbed Jo Jo’s, and she picked out the colors of yarn she liked, and I have gotten started. Since I am mildly obsessed with broomstick lace right now, and I think it makes a perfectly elegant pattern for a professional woman to wear to work, I decided to go with that pattern. After a bit of trial and error, I have come up with with this so far:

DSCN1201

Not too much finished yet, but it is coming along!

Extreme close up!

Extreme close up!

In case you are curious, I am using a sock weight yarn with a size E hook, and a size 19 knitting needle for the “broomstick.” I made the handle on the hook in the picture using polymer clay. I found the smaller hooks to be really difficult to use, and they made my hands cramp up. So, I made a thicker handle for it in my favorite colors – yellow and green!

3 thoughts on “Scarf for my mom/playing with sock weight yarn

  1. Pingback: Scarf for my mom, | Lou's Labors

Leave a Reply

