Home » amigurumi » Baby Set and Elephant Pattern

Baby Set and Elephant Pattern

Greetings!  I have a new pattern to share with you today 🙂 First of all, I was inspired by a customer to create baby sets, consisting of a baby blanket, hat, and doll. She ordered hers for a Christmas baby, and she did not know the sex, so we did neutral Christmas colors and the doll was a reindeer. It turned out so cute:

First baby set - the flower is removable, since gender is unknown

First baby set – the flower is removable, since gender is unknown

This is just a simple granny square blanket with a baby beanie and removable flower (in case it was a girl). The reindeer pattern can be found here. I modified it slightly, but I think it turned out severely cute! I was inspired by her request to create more baby sets, and had not had a chance to do any gender specific ones, when my cousin asked if I could do a set for a coworker of hers that is expecting a girl in a couple of weeks. I was delighted to do it for two reasons. First, I got to make another baby set (so cute!!) and second, I got to make Alyssa the elephant again, so I could edit the pattern for you! So here are pics.

second baby set

second baby set

Tiramisu blanket - LOVE this pattern

Tiramisu blanket – LOVE this pattern

The blanket is a pattern called Tiramisu Blanket, which is so pretty. The original pattern has a ribbon woven through the beautiful border, but I opted to not do that. I think it still looks nice, and I may use this border again, since it is so lovely.

Elf Hat - so cute for a newborn

Elf Hat – so cute for a newborn

This elf hat pattern was originally on the internet, and I made one in some other colors. The author has since taken the pattern down, but I did the best I could to recreate it without the pattern. I think it looks completely adorbs. Finally, here is the elephant. I recently made an elephant, Alyssa, and promised the pattern. I edited and tested the pattern again here, and am happy to share her with you!

Elephant side view

Elephant side view

Elephant Front view - such a cutie!!

Elephant Front view – such a cutie!!

So, without further ado, here is the pattern for Alyssa, the Elephant:

I used a worsted weight yarn and an F hook for this elephant, but gauge is not essential, so you can use any yarn and an appropriately small hook. Generally, I use a hook at least 2 sizes smaller than the recommended hook for an ami. I find it is best to get as tight a stitch as possible on these, otherwise, the stuffing may show through.

Body:

In magic ring, 6 sc

Row 1: 2 sc in each st around (12)

Row 2: sc in next st, 2 sc in next st, around (18)

Row 3: sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next st, around (24)

Row 4: sc in next 3 st, 2 sc in next st, around (30)

Row 5: sc in next 4 st, 2 sc in next st, around (36)

Row 6-9: sc in each st, around (36)

Row 10: sc2tog, sc in next 4 st, around (30)

Row 11: sc in each st, around (30)

Row 12: sc2tog, sc in next 13 st, around (28)

Row 13: sc in each st, around (28)

Row 14: sc2tog, sc in next 5 st, around (24)

Row 15: sc in each st, around (24)

Row 16: sc2tog, sc in next 6 st, around (21)

Row 17: sc in each st, around (21)

Row 18: sc2tog, sc in next 5 st, around (18)

Row 19: sc in each st, around (18)

Row 20: sc2tog, sc in next 4 st, around (15)

Row 21: sc2tog, sc in next 3 st, around (12)

FO and leave a long tail for sewing

I usually stuff the body at this point and set it aside.

Head:

In magic ring, 6 sc

Row 1: 2 sc in each st around (12)

Row 2: sc in next st, 2 sc in next st, around (18)

Row 3: sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next st, around (24)

Row 4: sc in next 3 st, 2 sc in next st, around (30)

Row 5: sc in next 4 st, 2 sc in next st, around (36)

Row 6: sc in next 5 st, 2 sc in next st, around (42)

Row 7-11: sc in each st, around (42)

Row 12: sc2tog, sc in next 5 st, around (36)

Row 13: sc2tog, sc in next 4 st, around (30)

Row 14: sc2tog, sc in next 3 st, around (24)

Row 15: sc2tog, sc in next 2 st, around (18)

Row 16: sc2tog, sc in next 4 st, around (15)

Row 17: sc2tog, sc in next 3 st, around (12)

Insert safety eyes if you are using them. Stuff head and continue to stuff as you finish the trunk.

Row 18-20: sc in each st, around (12)

Row 21: sc2tog, sc in next 4 st, around (10)

Row 22-23: sc in each st, around (10)

Row 24: sc2tog, sc in next 3 st, around (8)

Row 25-26: sc in each st, around (8)

Row 27: sc2tog, sc in next 2 st, around (6)

Row 28: sc2tog, sc in next 4 st (5)

FO, Sew trunk closed and shape. Sew to body.

Ear front (make 2 in contrasting color):

Ch 2,

Row 1: Sc 4 in 2nd loop from hook, ch 1, turn. (4)

Row 2: 2 sc in each st, around, ch 1, turn. (8)

Row 3: 2 sc in next st, sc in next st, around. Ch 1, turn. (12)

Row 4: 2 sc in next st, sc in next 2 st, around. (16)

FO, hide tails.

Ear back (make 2 in main color):

Ch 2,

Row 1: Sc 4 in 2nd loop from hook, ch 1, turn. (4)

Row 2: 2 sc in each st, around, ch 1, turn. (8)

Row 3: 2 sc in next st, sc in next st, around. Ch 1, turn. (12)

Row 4: 2 sc in next st, sc in next 2 st, around. (16)

Pick up ear front, hold the two pieces next to each other and work the rest of the ear in both the front and the back of the ear.

2 sc in next st, sc in next 3 st around, ch 1, turn. (20)

Sc in each st around. (20)

FO and leave a long tail for sewing. Sew to head.

Legs (Make 4, stuff lightly, and sew to body):

In magic circle, sc 6.

Row 1: 2 sc in each st, around (12)

Row 2: 2 sc in next st, sc in next st, around (18)

Row 3: BLO – sc2tog, sc in next 7 st, around (16)

Row 4: sc in each st, around (16)

Row 5: sc2tog, sc in next 6 st, around (14)

Row 6-7: sc in each st, around (14)

Row 8: sc2tog, sc in next 5 st, around (12)

Row 9-11: sc in each st, around, (12)

Row 12: sc2tog, sc in next 4 st (10)

Row 13: sc in each st, around (10)

FO, leave a long tail for sewing to body.

Please let me know if you find any errors in this pattern. I would love to see your creations if you make Alyssa, so please share pictures!  Feel free to make as many toys from this pattern as you like as gifts. Please do not sell the pattern as it is my original. Thanks!!

8 thoughts on “Baby Set and Elephant Pattern

  1. Louanne the elephant, hat and blanket are precious !!!! I love them

    On Wed, Feb 20, 2013 at 11:15 PM, Lou’s Labors

  2. I love the elephant! I have made one for my daughter and niece and they love them. Question, am I allowed to sell the elephants I have made from your pattern on my facebook page as long as I link back to this pattern? Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  3. I seem to have missed the instruction as to when to stuff the body. I assume it’s before sewing on the head but I want to make sure. Thanks.

    • You are right! I usually stuff the bodies as soon as I finish it and set it aside. I may add more stuffing to it later, as I am attaching the head, if necessary. I will edit this post to reflect this correction! Thanks 🙂

  4. Pingback: There’s just no stopping me! | Katie-Lou Makes Stuff

Leave a Reply

