Home » decoration » St. Patrick’s Day Bunting

St. Patrick’s Day Bunting

Oh my gosh! St. Patrick’s Day is my favorite holiday. I love my Irish heritage, and this holiday certainly celebrates that! I love making my grandmother’s recipe for Irish Soda Bread- it reminds me of baking with her when I was younger, and makes me feel close to her, even though she is gone. I love the silliness of it – wearing green, drinking green beer, eating green foods – so fun! Every year for St. Patty’s, I like to wear a silly outfit with lots of green. This year, I am having a few people to the house, and it promises to be a fun time. Can’t wait!

In preparation for the festivities, and possibly because I have the week off, I made a bunting! It was also my first experience with applique – what fun. It was much easier than I thought it would be, and I think the bunting turned out completely adorbs.

Top o' the bunting to ya!

Top o’ the bunting to ya!

It was a little longer than I anticipated, but I fixed that by hanging the middle up higher. I love the fabric I found – the green is shamrocks with celtic knots on it, and the white has tiny white shamrocks on it. Try not to look too closely at my applique technique stitching, I am having a hard time getting my machine to do a proper zig zag. šŸ™‚

Tiny shamrocks, big shamrock!

Tiny shamrocks, big shamrock!

I am still working on next month’s garland – I am thinking a Spring theme for April – what do you think I should do for April?

 

Leave a Reply

