Home » amigurumi » WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday

I typically work on many different things at once, and right now is no exception! I like to do lots of different projects, after all, variety is the spice of life. Since none of them are complete, I will share what I have so far of a few of them! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am quite excited about each of them and working hard to finish them up.

APRIL’S BUNTING:

I have been teaching myself embroidery, because, why not? I really like the fiber arts, and it seems like something I would both enjoy and be able to use to personalize things. Anyway, I really wanted to riff on the rainy April/Spring theme for this month, and was racking my brain to try and figure out how I would sew or crochet rain, when it hit me: EMBROIDER IT! So, I was inspired by the many embroidery in the hoop wall art pieces I have been seeing on pinterest and etsy, and I decided, what the heck, I will give it a go. Here is what I have so far:

April garland

April garland

There is an umbrella, a rainy cloud, and a pair of galoshes. They are not finished, I still have quite a bit of embellishing to go, and I still need to finish off the backs, add a ribbon to each, and figure out how I am going to sting them together to make a garland. Altogether, they’re off to a good start.

FOREST FRIENDS:

I so loved the Ami Adventurers series I did a while back for a customer, that I was inspired to do another set. They are going to be the Forest Friends, and will include some forest creatures. So far, I have all the parts for a Raccoon, and I am waiting on his eyes. I ordered some special eyes since he has a black mask, and my normal black eyes would not show up well. Unfortunately, that means I cannot sew him together until they get here ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so for now, he is in pieces.

Racoon, still in bits and pieces

Racoon, still in bits and pieces

He also has a foxy buddy in the works (no head for him yet, since it is kind of sad to have the head and not have the eyes to finish it):

Oh! Foxy!

Oh! Foxy!

SPRING COLLAGE SCARF:

I am working on a springy scarf, made from cotton yarn and several different squares that I will join ย together with a creamy colored yarn. I am trying to use some new and different square motifs to expand my repertoire there. I am working especially on circles within squares and flowers within squares. I cannot wait for this one to be finished! I think I will need between 24 and 30 total.

scarf motifs so far

scarf motifs so far

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

  1. I can relate to the working on many projects – have managed to dwindle it down to 3!! Feel like I need to start something else …

    • Me too. I recently read a blog about WIPs vs. hibernators (stuff we have put on the complete back burner for a while). I have many of those as well, lol ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Nothing really hibernates with me, I just keep working on them all simultaneously and don’t get very far!!
        I’ve nominated your blog for the Liebster Award. Congrats, it’s well deserved ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

