Home » Garden » Never Ending WIP, or playing in the garden!

Never Ending WIP, or playing in the garden!

I know this blog is dedicated to my crocheting, crafting and sewing type projects, however, since it is Lou’s Labors, and I did quite a bit of a different kind of labor in the yard this weekend, I thought I would share some of it with you 🙂

So, I am a perfectionist in most things. There is one thing in which I allow myself to be less than perfect – my garden. Because it does not have to be perfect. It is always changing, there are always new weeds to pull, plants to plant, or transplant, bits to trim and prune. It really is a never-ending work-in-progress, but it is supposed to be! It excites me. I relish in the (very few) beautiful days we get in North Texas that I am able to get out there and spend the whole day. I get really excited and energized when winter is FINALLY over and it is time to plant new things and spruce up the yard. Spring is truly my favorite time of year. It symbolizes so many things – new life, renewed energy, fun, etc. Not to mention, in my job, summer is right around the corner, and since the hard stuff (UIL competition) is over, this is the fun part of the year, with field trips (Six Flags and Alley Cats), cluster concerts, awards banquets, Spring concerts, and fun music! How can we be having anything except a good time!

I spent as much of this past weekend in my yard playing/working and loving every minute of it. Here are some pictures of my labors there:

Welcome to my home

Welcome to my garden. He is standing among some purple oxalis (purple clover). So pretty and so easy!!

Did I mention we collect garden gnomes? See if you can see them helping out where they are!

One of my favorites is this spiral plant. He comes back every year.

One of my favorites is this corkscrew plant. He comes back every year. Also seen are some begonias, they always seem to come back each year, and a crepe myrtle volunteer (I think I will prune him and keep him smallish), as well as pots waiting for their annuals.

These beautiful tulips are almost finished for the season.

These beautiful tulips are almost finished for the season.

Queen of the Night Tulips - I LOVE their deep purple color!

Queen of the Night Tulips – I LOVE their deep purple color! This bed also has Heather and Lantana that will grow later in the season.

Pretty irises.

Pretty irises, also some mondo grass, clover (in pot), a couple of lantana starting to sprout, a turk’s cap (right of gnome), a columbine (left of gnome). The fence also has a window for Gus to come hang out and watch while I play 🙂

I had no idea how tall the irises would be when I put them in the front. I like them there, and if they don’t last all season, I will leave them. If they are blocking something all year, I will move them back.

Herb garden - currently has rosemary, sage and oregano.

Herb garden – currently has rosemary, sage and oregano.

Backyard Blooming

Backyard Blooming – The tiny green sprout will be Aurora Fritillia, red-tipped fontina (I think), a mock orange bush, a long grass, more scilla, Strawberry plants (I will probably move these), another mack orange, and then the scilla, and same plants in the view below.

Backyard Blooming 2

Backyard Blooming 2: from bottom – Coral Bells, Crocus, Hyacinth, Glory of the Snow (pink), can’t remember the tropical looking one, and the “bush” behind it is a trained weed. The tiny white flowers are scilla. 

So there you have it, my most current, and forever, WIP. I have some seeds starting in the garage, and I have some bulbs and roots for get planted in the ground the next day I have a chance. Plus, one of our schools has a fundraiser and sells annual flowers, so I will get some of those. Even though annuals only last one year, I think it is a good cause, and they are pretty 🙂

Thanks for looking and I hope you enjoyed the tour through my garden! Come back soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

