Home » crafts » May Bunting

May Bunting

I have finished May’s bunting/garland!! I am so excited because the St. Patty’s Day one was really starting to look out of season ๐Ÿ™‚

For this lovely and Springy month, I decided to do a strawberry theme. I recently saw a picture on pinterest of a strawberry bunting, and I had one of my usual thoughts – how hard could that be to make? (My husband always laughs at that line of thinking, but will admit, it has helped decorate our home and garden quite a bit, lol).

So I had some pretty red polka dot fabric, perfect for the berries with their tiny seeds, and I had some lime green felt, for the stems and leaves. I had to purchase some bias tape in lime green, but that was really inexpensive, plus I have a teacher discount card which always takes another 15% off! I used threads I also already had on hand. This entire bunting cost me a total of $1.75 out of pocket!! That’s what I call a deal ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay – enough talk – pictures:

May bunting

May bunting

So simple, yet, really cute, and totally captures the springy, almost summer feel that is May in Texas!

Close up of one of the flags

Close up of one of the flags

You can see the tiny polka dot “seeds” are just perfect for that strawberry look. I really like that it is not a strawberry, but so obviously still is. Thanks pinterest for this inspiration!

Also, I have been super inspired craft-wise lately (which is a surprise considering how INSANELY busy my job has been), but I have already finished June’s garland, and have a couple of cute crochet projects in the works! I can’t wait to share ย those very soon ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

