Home » Organization » Summer Crafting

Summer Crafting

It is FINALLY summer, and I am FINALLY beginning to feel human (as opposed to zombie) again!! I joined a stash-buster swap on ravelry with one of my amigurumi groups on that site. The rules are that we cannot spend any money on this swap (except for postage) and must instead gift our partner with an ami, as well as things from our stash! I am super excited about what I am making for her, but in an effort to keep my partner in the dark, the ami and items I am making/gifting, will have to remain a mystery for now. I am also super excited that my annual stash overhaul and re-organize will be with a greater purpose this year πŸ™‚ So far, I have found some real treasures in my stash, especially, my fabric stash.

I recently bought a new sewing machine!! I had been thinking about it and researching it for several months (almost a year) before I made my purchase. Then, serendipitously, there was a sewing convention, the same day and about a mile away from the repair shop where I needed to take my cello in for some repairs. I decided to go and see if I could get a great deal. I did! I bought a Janome DC 2013, and can’t wait to get started on it! So my stash reorganization has been extremely purposeful this year-get ready to sew, sew, sew, and get some things in order for a swap!

Here is a picture of it before –

Stash busting time!

Stash busting time!

It never gets too terribly disorganized, but things do get shoved the back, and moved to the floor, and put away, possibly never to be seen again. I like to go through a couple of times a year and search for forgotten gems that will inspire my crafting. It also helps me not buy new stuff to fill up my stash!

I went through my fabric and did 2 loads of laundry to wash it all, ironed it, folded it, and labeled it with potential projects:

Summer sewing projects

Summer sewing projects

It looks so manageable when they are all laid out on an ironing board.

Knits

Knits

The gray on the right was a maxi skirt, but I had done it the wrong way, and it never hung correctly. I am in the process of dismantling it and turning it into a breezy, A-line, mid-length skirt. I am going to do the large orange stripes so that they form a V in the front and back, because I think those skirts are way cute. The blue is actually reversible, stripes on the other side. I want to toy with combining the patterns with the dress, maybe dots on the bodice and stripes on the skirt. It I have enough of the orange small stripes, I want to make a summery dress. If not, I will do a skirt. The small red stripes are destined to be a tank top or T-shirt. I will decide which when it is time for cutting πŸ™‚

IMG_0810

mending/repurposing

The fruit on the left is a failed attempt at a dress. I salvaged the bottom and made a cute skirt with awesome pockets. The top is going to become some sort of flower for a pin or a headband/hair clip. Β The Flowers on the right are a dress that I had to take in and never reinforced the seam. I need to do that, as it is coming apart in several spots. (How embarrassing)

Future gadget/accessory case

Future gadget/accessory case

I tried my hand at one of these before, but decided I REALLY wanted it to have a zipper. I would feel much more comfortable with my phone in something that would close. I also want it to have a place for money, ID, credit card, so it can double as a small purse when I really don’t want to bring everything somewhere.

IMG_0812

Future Librarian blouse

I found this cute fabric at the sewing convention for $6/yd. It is a 60″ fabric. I thought it was so cute and would make an adorable blouse. Now to raid my button stash to find the perfect buttons (insert evil laugh here).

July bunting

July bunting

This will become July’s garland of the month. I have not decided what it will be – I am thinking stars. DH is thinking stars and stripes. We will see what I can come up with.

forgotten treasures

forgotten treasures

These fabrics I have had for a couple of years and totally forgot about. The top one is destined to be an A-line skirt with some tulle or something to make it fuller underneath.The bottom one will become a cute pencil skirt. Already have the zippers and everything for them!

❀ both of these

I want these to both be sundresses, but I am not sure I bought enough of them. We shall see.

Scallops

Scallop seersucker

Here is some seersucker that I am going to turn into a skirt with a scalloped hem. I think it will turn out really cute.

Anniversary dress

Anniversary dress

I love the color of this green, and since my 5 year wedding anniversary is coming up, I thought I would try to make a dress for it. This will probably be the first project I tackle, after a bit of mending to get my bearings on the new machine.

Pajamas!!

Pajamas

Both of these festive prints are going to become pajama pants. I am thinking with the help of the interwebs, I can use some existing comfy pants to make a pattern for them πŸ™‚

shorts?

shorts?

This nice Hawaiian-looking print seems to want to be a pair of shorts. That should be an interesting challenge to up the ante on my sewing ability this summer.

what to do

What to do?

what to do

What to do?

Finally, I have these last two fabrics that I adore, but cannot figure out what I should do with. What do you think I should make with them?

There is my summer sewing list. Add to that lots of crochet and “other” crafts, and I am looking at a busy summer. That’s okay, because I will be doing things that I really enjoy, and that help me to relax. I look forward to sharing my summer projects with you!

4 thoughts on “Summer Crafting

  1. Aww, the fabric with the little houses and buildings on it is adorable! You could make a zippered makeup/errata bag, maybe? That would be cute.

    That last fabric is very pretty. You could make a handkerchief with it, and maybe use some thread and a tiny hook to crochet a border around it? I think that would look very nice.

    Would you be interested in doing a sort of swap with me that incorporates these two fabrics? We could each take one of the fabrics, sew a little something to send to the other person, include a few goodies, and keep the rest of the fabric. Interested?

Leave a Reply

