Home » amigurumi » Summer Drawing to a Close

Summer Drawing to a Close

Summer is now nearly over. As the new school year approaches, I have a lot of mixed emotions. I am sad that my free crafting time is over. I am happy to get back into a routine and to see all my my students again! I am excited to meet the new ones. I am anxious because I am changing to a new elementary school (My home school, the junior high will not change. I am moving to a different one of our feeder elementary schools), and change is always difficult. Other feelings get mixed up in there, but those are the most prominent.

Reflecting back on this summer, I realize that, although I did not meet all of my crafting/crocheting/sewing goals, I had a great summer. I worked at two excited music camps, where I not only taught amazing students, but was also surrounded by master teachers, and learned so much! I went to the Texas Orchestra Directors Association conference and was inspired for my teaching and conducting this year. I got to spend so much quality time with my DH this summer, it was almost as though he was also on summer break!

Finally, I spent quite a bit of time crafting. My friends and I started a craft club. The first month, we made duck tape flower pens. We did not think to take pictures, and mine is packed in my school boxes, which I just dropped off at my new school. I plan to make a few more in my new school’s colors (red and blue!!). The next month, we made felt party hats, inspired by this wonderful tutorial by Princess Lasertron.

Party hats

Our next craft will have a shell craft theme, which is perfect for our end of summer meeting! I can’t wait. Good times, good friends, and fun crafts 🙂

I have also been busy crocheting, although, I still have a lot to make before the craft shows in October/November. Here are some of the fun things I have been making!

Red Dalek Gloves

Red Dalek Gloves

These fingerless gloves are quickly turning into a huge hit!

Gray Dalek Gloves

Gray Dalek Gloves

Some fantasy horses:

Pegusus

Pegusus

Look - he has cute little wings

Look – he has cute little wings

Precious baby unicorn

Precious baby unicorn

This sweet little dragon:

Dragon

Dragon

This cute little owl (you can see a sneak peek at some of his friends in the background of this one):

Sweet Owl

Sweet Owl

A couple of birds – a sweet baby duck, and my favorite – a penguin (the picture does NOT do his cuteness justice!!). I am going to have a difficult time selling him!

Little Duck

Little Duck

PENGUIN!!

PENGUIN!!

Some sci-fi characters:

Yoda

Yoda (pattern from Lucy Ravenscar)

Dalek

Dalek

Finally, some baby hats, and a pair of fingerless gloves:

Frog

Frog

Frog

Frog

Giraffe

Giraffe

Baby bear

Baby bear

 cute fingerless gloves

cute fingerless gloves

It has been a busy and delightful summer, and although I am sad to see it go, I am looking forward to an exciting and successful new school year!

Hope you all had a great summer vacation, too!

4 thoughts on “Summer Drawing to a Close

Leave a Reply

