Home » Crochet » Chunky Hat Craze

Chunky Hat Craze

I have been obsessed with making chunky hats with large pom-poms lately. It all started when I took a trip to Manhatten, where my husband had a lunch meeting. While he was there, I went to a lovely yarn shop called String. It was on the second floor, and you had to be buzzed in, which is so different from anything where I live in Suburbia. It was fun and small, but it had loads of large windows so all the colors of their beautiful yarns popped! I bought a terrific and soft wool yarn from them which was variegated neutrals, and varied from thick to thin. Just gorgeous!

I made this hat from it:

Yea Hat!

Yea Hat!

It is the first thing I have made for myself in a really long time! I love it. It is so cozy and warm, and worked up really quickly. I posted it on Facebook, and have gotten so many compliments/comments on it, that I thought I would make another in a different color. I did not buy any other yarn from NY, but I have a fairly substantial amount of chunky yarns in my stash, so I raided that and came up with this:

Chunky Gray

Chunky Gray

It was quickly a downward spiral from there. I could not stop crocheting these super easy hats. I made four more within the weekend:

beige

beige

blue nuetral

blue neutral

Green neutral

Green neutral

bright colors

bright colors

They are super fun, super warm because of the chunky yarn, and really cute! I have a few more chunky yarns to play with, so you can bet you will see a few more of these hats soon!

UPDATE – I have published the pattern for this hat, and you can find it here.

4 thoughts on “Chunky Hat Craze

  1. I want the colorful one!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Dec 7, 2013, at 9:39 AM, Lou’s Labors wrote:

    WordPress.com Lou’s Labors posted: “I have been obsessed with making chunky hats with large pom-poms lately. I recently took a trip to Manhatten, where my husband had a lunch meeting. While he was there, I went to a lovely yarn shop called String. It was on the second floor, and you had to “

Leave a Reply

