Home » Crochet » Chunky Hat Pattern

Chunky Hat Pattern

I have been completely obsessed with making hats lately. Ever since my last post about making hats from the yarn from an LYS in NYC, I can’t stop. I made them for my entire family for Christmas.

Christmas Hats- fun family Christmas time!

Christmas Hats- fun family Christmas time!

As you can see, everyone enjoyed their snuggly hats! I made several more, and donated them to a cancer center for their patients to wear. Just in time, too, since we have had a couple of pretty cold days and nights lately!

I made the same hat so many times, that I finally wrote out the pattern to share with you today. But first, many pictures of that and some other hats I have been obsessed with making lately!

I wanted a slouchy hat, so I came up with this sort of beret.

Funky beret

Funky beret

Front view of slouchy beret

Front view of slouchy beret

I made a regular beanie, sort of by accident. I was originally going to make another chunky hat like the others, but didn’t have enough yarn to finish it, so this was the result:

Beanie side view

Beanie side view

Beanie front view

Beanie front view

Finally, the chunky hat that started it all, and the one I used to finally write out the pattern. I really love this pattern, and I hope you will enjoy it as well. If you make this pattern, feel free to share pictures on my facebook page, as I would love to see what you make!

Original Chunky Hat

Original Chunky Hat

OCH side view

OCH side view

Chunky Hat side

Chunky Hat side

Chunky hat front

Chunky hat front

Supplies needed:

Chunky yarn (I really like a super bulky for this pattern)

Size N Hook

One DVD case (for the pom pom – you’ll see)

Pattern:

Row 1: In Magic Circle, sc 5; sl st to join, ch 1 (5)

Row 2: 2 hdc in each st around; sl st to join, ch 1 (10)

Row 3: 2 hdc in each st around; sl st to join, ch 1 (20)

Row 4: hdc in next st, 2 hdc in next st, around; sl st to join, ch 1 (30)

Row 5: hdc in next 2 st, 2 hdc in next st, around; sl st to join, ch 1 (40)

Row 6: hdc in next 9 st, 2 hdc in next st, around; sl st to join, ch 1 (44)

Row 7-13: hdc in each st, around; sl st to join (44) * I usually like to try on the hat after a couple of these rows to make sure it fits. If it is too big, I go back to row 5-6 and make adjustments. If it is too small I would increase to 48 in row 6. This makes it a bit more work, but since I am just making the hats for myself, friends, and charity.

Row 14: Alternate FPDc and BPDc around; sl st to join (44)

Row 15-16: Alternate FPDc and BPDc around; sl st to join (44)

Sew in ends and make the pom-pom.

There are about a million different tutorials online about how to make pom-poms, so you may want to reference some of those, but here is what I did. Cut about 8-10 inches of yarn and set aside. Wrap the yarn loosely around the DVD case many times. The more times you wrap it, the fuller your pom-pom. I would wrap between 75 and 100 times around. Slide the yarn off the case and quickly tie it up using the length you set aside. Then attach it to your hat and look cute and awesome wearing it!

Making GIant Pom-poms!

Making Giant Pom-poms!

8 thoughts on “Chunky Hat Pattern

  1. Pingback: 100 Crafts – #1-10 | Lou's Labors

  2. Pingback: Chunky Hat Craze | Lou's Labors

  3. LOVE this pattern! So quick and easy and I have the cutest new hat now πŸ™‚ thanks!
    I wanted to add a picture but it won’t let me, but trust me I’m super thrilled πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

