Home » 100 craft challenge » 100 Crafts – #1-10

100 Crafts – #1-10

I realize I just took on this challenge yesterday, but since I decided to do some stash busting last week, and have not been to the craft store since before that, I thought I would count the last week’s worth of crafts. They are crocheted, and you guessed it, mostly hats (obsessed much?), but they are really cute, and they use about a whole skein of yarn each. The ones that did not use the entire skein, I used the rest of it to make extra things. So without further ado, I present to you Crafts #1-10.

Number 1 – I took leftover yarn from my trip to New York, and made an ear warmer. So cute with the button detail:

IMG_1503

Ear warmer from NY yarn

Here I am modeling it :)

Here I am modeling it 🙂

Numbers 2, 3, and 4 – Following my chunky hat pattern (found here), I made several more chunky hats to sell/donate:

Turquoise chunky hat

Turquoise chunky hat

This one has a slightly different bottom, I alternated FPDc and BPDc in groups of 2 instead of every other, but otherwise it is the same.

Olive hat

Olive hat

I love this green yarn. The color did not come out so true in the picture, but it is a lovely shade of olive green, and so soft! 🙂

Mustard hat

Mustard hat

This one is made from more of a roving than a yarn, but it is also beautiful and soft. I love it so much!

Number 5, 6, and 7 are all made from the same yarn. I had two skeins of the same blue-speckled yarn, and made (surprise) a chunky hat with it. It took 1 1/2 skeins. With the leftover, I made an ear warmer and a baby chunky hat – so cute!

Adult and baby matching hats - maybe cute for a mom to be

Adult and baby matching hats – maybe cute for a mom to be?

Earwarmer

Earwarmer

Number 8 – This is a long stripy beanie made from some really soft yarn. I like the way the pinks and reds contrast with the olive greens. Girly meets camouflage. I love it!

Stripy beanie

Stripy beanie

Number 9 – This is a cute skull cap made from the some cottony yarn I bought a while back for a mystery CAL. Once I received the pattern, I really did not like it, but I still liked the yarn, so I kept it. I did not really know what to do with it, until recently. I used most of it to make a beret style slouchy hat. With what was left, I was able to make this skull cap. The hole detailing is both a necessity, since there would not have been enough yarn otherwise, and decorative. I think it turned out really cute.

Cute skull cap

Cute skull cap

Number 10 – This is a modern take on a flapper hat. I love both of these blue and white sparkle yarns so much. They are so feminine, and yet still subtle. I am not a terribly girly-girl, but I cannot resist a bit of sparkle or glitter. I made a flapper style hat, but instead of a flower like the traditional flapper hats, I added a trendy bow. Bowties are cool, after all. It adds just the right amount of sparkle and modernity. I love it!

Modern flapper hat

Modern flapper hat

So, this week has been all about crochet head pieces. I am so far enjoying this challenge, and looking forward to seeing what I come up with for this week!

Leave a Reply

