Home » 100 craft challenge » How to Make Your Own Draft Blocker

How to Make Your Own Draft Blocker

All across the country, every one is having a really cold winter. I imagine you, like my sister and I, are finding that you have some drafty areas of your house. Well, I have a solution for you – a handy dandy draft blocker – made from materials you probably already have on hand, Β or can very easily get.

Here’s what you will need:

Supplies

Supplies – I don’t have everything out in the picture, sorry for that

Scrap material (I used some fat quarters my sis picked out)

Rice – super cheap at the grocery store and really retains hot/cold

Other supplies: Sewing machine (you could hand sew if you prefer), thread, scissors, measuring tape, pencil, paper, cutting mat, rotary cutter

First, you need to decide how big to make your draft blocker. My door measured 32 inches across, and I added an inch on each side to make sure I would block all of the draft. So my final length needs to be 34 inches, I add a half inch to each side for seam allowance and need to cut 35 inches long.

I decided to make it round, and therefore needed to bust out some of my math skills from high school (who said we would never use geometry in real life?!?!?). Since the space between the door and the ground is 2 inches, I want to have a height (diameter) at least that. I wanted to go bigger again, so I upped the height a full inch to 3 inches, again ensuring all draftiness prevented. In order to figure out how wide to cut your fabric, you will need to determine the circumference of your circle (don’t worry it’s not hard). Remember pi? The constant that allows us to figure out how big around a circle is? We are going to use it here. Pi is equal to approximately 3.14. So you take the height (diameter) you want for your draft blocker, and multiply times 3.14. If you want a height of 3 inches, you multiply 3 times 3.14. I got 9.42, which I rounded up to 10, because that is an easy number to work with, and already accounts for my seam allowance. Hooray math!

I decided to go fancy and use three different materials for my blocker. You could do more, you could do less, but you just have to keep in mind your finished desired length, and then add to each piece for seam allowances.

Next you cut and measure your fabric. I made each piece 10 inches wide. Then I made the two black pieces 12 inches long and the center piece 13 inches long. This allows for a 1/4 inch seam allowance on each piece and 1/2 inch on the ends.

3 pieces cut and ready

3 pieces cut and ready

Side note – you know the old adage “measure twice, cut once?” I really should have done that here, because the bottom black piece was only 9 inches across (how did that happen?). So I had to add a small extra strip to it, which works, but was an extra unanticipated step. Hopefully, you will measure better than I did πŸ™‚

Next, you are going to pin the right sides together.

Pin away

Pin away

I really tried to make sure everything was matched up really well before I pinned, so I took some extra time at this step. Then you are going to sew both side pieces to the center piece:

Both pieces pinned to the center piece

Sew both sides

After you have all the pieces sewn together, press the seams flat.

Seams pressed

Seams pressed

Flip over and press again:

Ooo, so pretty :)

Ooo, so pretty πŸ™‚

Then fold in half, right sides together, pin and sew one side and across the long edge.

Fold in half

Fold in half

sew up two adjacent sides

sew up two adjacent sides

Turn it right side out, and fill ‘er up with rice. I found it MUCH easier to fill a cup with rice and use that to pour it in the tube.

turn and fill

turn and fill

Leave about 1 inch at the top empty so you can turn down the end and sew it closed. I reinforced both ends by stitching and then top stitching, just so that those pesky small rice kernels would not escape.

Door Draft blocker

Door Draft blocker

There you have it. One nifty, cute and practical door draft blocker. Super easy and fun to make. I hope this helps you keep your house warm this Winter! Please let me know if you have any questions. If you make one, leave a comment below with the link or send me a picture. I can’t wait to see your creations πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “How to Make Your Own Draft Blocker

  1. Pingback: Craft Challenge #11-14 | Lou's Labors

  2. I need one of these for my front door!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Feb 1, 2014, at 2:40 PM, Lou’s Labors wrote:

    WordPress.com Lou’s Labors posted: “All across the country, every one is having a really cold winter. I imagine you, like my sister and I, are finding that you have some drafty areas of your house. Well, I have a solution for you – a handy dandy draft blocker – made from materials you proba”

Leave a Reply

