Home » 100 craft challenge » Craftiness abounds

Craftiness abounds

This week has been ripe with craftiness. I did crochet one item, but the rest are crafty-style projects. I am getting closer to my goal of 100 every week. This week was also a bit of a tough one. I struggled a bit with inspiration. Usually, when inspiration is at a low, I go to the local craft store, and I look around at their products and project ideas, buy something, or scope out their classes for ideas. Right now, that is not an option, as I am avoiding these places to make it through this challenge. Instead, I turned to my pinterest boards. It turns out, there are quite a few great ideas on there (lol). I just needed an excuse to make a few of them.  My theme for this week, was getting organized to get inspired.

#32 – My cousin sent me a picture of a scarf last weekend, and asked if I could make it for her. There was no pattern, and it was a picture of an item someone was reselling that they had bought (who knows where). It is a wide scarf, so that it can also be a shawl. It is super warm, despite all the holes. I cannot wait to get it to her! The stitch is a basic V stitch, and the edging is a shell stitch. It also used up a few of the skeins in my stash, which is a bonus. I did not have to buy anything, so it counts toward my 100 crafts!

Scarf for Shanna

Scarf for Shanna

#33 and 34 – Needle books! I have had these in my mind for a while. I made two of these – one for my embroidery needles (which I embroidered the word “needles” onto) and one for my sewing needles. It was super simple to make. I used felt, and some buttons, and my trusty sewing machine.

Needle Books

Needle Books

They have four pages each. Here is what the needles look like in their new home. I am pretty excited about this one!

Inside of Needle Books

Inside of Needle Books

#35 and 36 – Mason jar pin cushions. Over the years, I have amassed quite a collection of buttons. Between the ones that come with button down shirts, sweaters, and pants, and the ones I have bought in packs and not used the entire pack, it was really getting out of control. I decided something had to be done about it, but I did not want to just put them in drawers. As they say, “out of sight, out of mind.” So I figure, if I can see the buttons, I may use the buttons. It’s good in theory anyway. We shall see. Any way, I filled two mason jars, one large and one medium, with them, and attached some fabric and filling to the lids. Now they are on display in my craft room/studio where I can see them, and hope to be inspired by them.

Small Button Pin Cushion

Small Button Pin Cushion

Small button side view

Small button side view

Large Button Pin Cushion

Large Button Pin Cushion

Look at all the buttons!

Look at all the buttons!

#37 – Recovering some old shoes. I have a REALLY comfortable pair of brown flats. The only problem is, they are falling apart. The faux leather is chipping, and while they are still comfy, they are no longer presentable.

Old run-down comfy shoes

Old run-down comfy shoes

So, what’s a crafty girl to do? Duh, Mod Podge! I cut the ribbon off, and finished the peeling faux leather. Then got to work on the podge 🙂 I found some cute brown material in my stash, and cut it to the size of my shoes, and went to town. They are almost dry. When they finish (tomorrow), I will trim the bits of excess fabric and wear them out on the town!

Recovering shoes

Recovered shoes

I think they are much improved over their previous state.

I am plugging away at this challenge and trying to stay on target. 37 down, 63 more to go. The good news is, I have several inspired ideas right now! I am looking forward to seeing what I make this week! Thanks for staying with me through this!

On a different note, this is my 100th blog post, so yea! I can’t believe it, and what a journey it has been!

6 thoughts on “Craftiness abounds

Leave a Reply

