Home » 100 craft challenge » Spring Break Success!!

Spring Break Success!!

My plan for this Spring Break was to use the time to craft and rejuvenate myself to prepare for the end of the year. I would say it was a splendid week. I watched movies, both at home and at the theater. I cleaned my house (finally), shopped alone and with my sisters, had lunch with friends and family. I took naps, read books, ran miles, drank fine beers, and ate great food! I made complicated dinners, baked breads and other yummies. It was amazing 🙂

I also made/finished a few things towards my 100 crafts.

#46 – Isaac’s blanket- We had a nephew born at the beginning of the week, a healthy baby boy, on my father-in law’s side of the family. I made him this blanket, which I finished yesterday. It is blue and green for a baby boy. It is a simple pattern of granny squares, joined with a granny join (another row of granny stitch used to join the squares together). I love the way it came together and how the striping ended up diagonally. I cannot wait to get it to our nephew to use.

Green and blue baby blanket

Green and blue baby blanket

#47 – Blanket for my cousin’s baby – My cousin in NY is having her first baby later this year. They are waiting to find out the sex until it is born, so I decided on a rainbow blanket for them. I used some very bright colors, and since it came from my stash yarns, I did not necessarily have the same amount of each color. I made granny squares of each color until I ran out of the most of the skeins. I did not finish the blue or orange, so I will have to make plans for those. Then I laid the squares out, sort of randomly, making sure two of the same color were never next to each other, and also that there were never more than three of the same in a row diagonally. When I was satisfied with the look of it from all sides, I finally put the squares together. I used a single crochet join, and I really love the way it looks. On the front, it looks beautiful and polished with the white stripes pulling all the colors together. On the back, it looks like a seamless quilt. I just love the way it looks and came together. I cannot wait to send it to my cousin.

Rainbow blanket

Rainbow blanket

back of blanket

back of blanket

#48 – Elephant Ami – There was a little bit of blue leftover from Isaac’s blanket, and I used it to make a little elephant ami. He has some green accents on his ears to make him pop. The green yarn is from the DC striped blanket I made for myself (seen here). He turned out really cute, and the best part is, there is only about 1 yard of the blue left. It will go into the scrap pile, to be used as stuffing, or possibly embroidery. I love it when that works out. Also, the elephant is about as cute as possible. I hope you like him, too.

Want to be friends?

Want to be friends?

Side view

Side view

I love his tiny tail!

I love his tiny tail!

I did not quite make it to 50 crafts, but I would definitely call this week a success. I feel rested and refueled and ready to get back to work. I did not make myself crazy trying to meet impossible deadlines, or stressing about school coming back. I definitely made the best of this vacation, and am glad I did. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Spring Break Success!!

  1. Pingback: Halfway there! #49-50 | Lou's Labors

Leave a Reply

