Home » 100 craft challenge » Backyard Lanterns, A Tutorial (#55)

Backyard Lanterns, A Tutorial (#55)

#55 – Backyard Lanterns:

Lanterns!

Backyard Lanterns!

I have been doing an awful lot of work in my backyard these days. It is Spring, things are blooming, things need planting, etc. We had a deck built last year, and I am looking forward to using it this Spring and Summer. It will be lovely to eat meals out there, and entertain, etc.

The yard, however, needs a bit of sprucing up. We have many trees, and that shade leads to no grass growing. It is a definite work in progress, but it is good work, and work I enjoy. I like when a backyard is well lit in the evening. By well lit, I don’t necessarily mean bright, just that it has some lighting so you can see the people around you. We currently have a few solar powered globes lights in the beds. They change colors, and they are lovely. They are decorative, but do not offer much in the way of lighting. I was researching some solar white lights online, when I realized I had all the materials on hand to create my own. I am excited to share with you some lantern style lights!

Here are the supplies you will need. I could not believe I had all of these on hand, even the batteries!!

Supplies

Supplies

Mason jars – I used quart size, LED Touch Lights, Batteries, Twine, Some sort of metal – I used fence ties left over from when we put in the chain link fence in our yard.

Put batteries into each light according to the directions.

Take the paper off the back and stick them into the underside of the lid:

Sticky back

Sticky back

onto lid

onto lid

All lined up

All lined up

Screw the lid onto the jar. The only draw back I can think of to this style of lantern is that you will have to unscrew the top to turn them on and off. However, if you remember to turn them off, it will save the battery.

Take your fence ties and loop the bent ends together. Using pliers or your fingers, bend them all the way, so they are closed.

Fence ties

Fence ties

Fence Ties

Close the gap

Wrap the wire around the jar. You will see a small lip just below the grooves, make sure the wire is below this. Use pliers to twist this end closed. Be careful, and go slowly. You are working with glass. Be patient.

Wrap wire around the jar

Wrap wire around the jar

Next, wrap the twine around the bend. Try to go through both loops for more stability. Tie a knot. I used a square knot, but then added several more to give it more support.

Thread twine and knot.

Thread twine and knot.

Repeat on the other side, and VOILA! You have a brand new, home-made lantern to provide ambient light in the Spring and Summer evenings. It has been rainy and got cold AGAIN, so I have not brought them outside yet. I can’t wait to see them in outdoor action. Here they are lightin up the dark bathroom 🙂

Lights

Lights

Leave a Reply

