Memorial Day Weekend Craft Share

It was just Memorial Day weekend, and I was able to craft a few more things to share with you today!

I recently joined a fun game on Ravelry (only the best online fiber arts resource in the world!) called the Harry Potter Knitting and Crochet House Cup Challenge. When you join, you get sorted into one of the Harry Potter houses (I got Gryffindor!!!), and you submit projects for each class based on a prompt given by the professors (other crafters who have volunteered for the job). Each term is 3 months long, and you have to submit a minimum of one project each month. They also have extra-curricular acitivites such as quidditch and Maurader’s map missions, as well as OWLs, NEWTs, and other aspects of HP brought to you through a knitting/crocheting perspective! I am having a really great time with it, meeting lots of new people, and I anticipate several of my next crochet projects will be centered around the prompts for this!

#66 – Double Six Blanket – This blanket was crafted for the Divination class for May. The prompt was to be inspired by the double six domino, as dominoes are used to divine the future in some cultures. It was basically about creatively grouping and counting your project in sets of six. I made six granny squares, each with six rows, and then did a border with six rows as well. I think it is perfect for a stroller or car seat blanket.

Double Six Blanket

Double Six Blanket

six row granny square

six row granny square

Six row border

Six row border

#67 – Tiny Fairy for Potions class. The prompt was to make what ever the given potion would make, or to make something inspired by the ingredients. The first ingredient is fairy wings, so here is my fairy to fit this class.

Tiny Fairy

Tiny Fairy

#68 – This one is a favorite of mine. I REALLY wanted to make it fit into one of the HPKCHC prompts. I could, alas, not make it work. I am very excited about this one, because it really used up a LOT of my stash! I bought several (18) skeins of yarn a couple of years ago in an effort to make a blanket of some sort. It came in a kit, but I never made the project. I really love the color, but I had no idea what to do with ALL the yarn. 18 skeins is quite formidable! Then the idea hit me, why not triple them? So I got my giant crochet hook out, tripled the yarn, and got to work. It is just double crochet, but it looks so cool because it is done with an S hook, and triplicate yarn. It is about a full size bed, and about 5 feet long. I love the snuggliness of it 🙂

Thick and cozy

Thick and cozy

double crochets in triplcate

double crochets in triplcate

lush and yummy

lush and yummy