Home » 100 craft challenge » Some Summer Craftiness

Some Summer Craftiness

Hello Summer! So glad you finally made it. I was thinking you may have gotten lost, since it took you so long to get here!

This school year was amazing, but also insane! I was pretty sure it was going to kill me by the end, lol. But, we all survived and now it is time to kick back, relax and craft away.

Since the last post, I have gotten up to 77 crafts from my stash, which means a trip to the local craft/fabric store is not far away! Since I have so many to share, let’s get down to it:

#69-72 – More Bias Tape. Seriously, making this stuff is sort of addictive. It works up very quickly, each one takes about 45 minutes, start to finish. They are super cute, and will be completely useful. Plus, I think I can sell them in my etsy store if I get carried away making them 😉

White Flower Bias Tape 1

White Flower Bias Tape 1

Red Flower Bias Tape

Red Flower Bias Tape

White Flower Bias Tape 2

White Flower Bias Tape 2

Blue Flower Bias Tape

Blue Flower Bias Tape

#73 and 74 – Toddler Gloves. These are so cute, and they take no time at all to make. My cousin’s daughter (who is also my cousin, lol) was doing a dance routine to a song from Frozen, and needed some gloves to go with her costume. She wanted them to be crocheted, so that it would look “cold.” I made two pairs for her to choose from, one that matched the costume, and one that were sparkly like the snow. She chose the matching ones, so I will probably add a bow to the others before I sell them in October.

2 pairs of toddler Gloves

2 pairs of toddler Gloves

My Cousin wearing them before her performance.

My Cousin wearing them before her performance.

#75 – Painting Towels. This one is for my DH. Whenever I get a bit blocked about what to make next, I ask him if he needs me to make him anything. He almost always says no, he doesn’t need anything. One of his hobbies is painting models. He used to use a paper towel to blot his brush, but a couple of months ago, we stopped using paper towels for a variety of reasons. In the rest of the house, it has been fine to use cloth and wash them, and it really has not affected anything. He has dutifully switched to a cloth towel (more of a rag), but has not really liked how thick it was. One day, unprompted, he asked if I could cut it in quarters, and hem the edges, so that he could have them at the proper thickness and rotate them out. Anyway, here are the finished 4 smaller towels.

Painting Towels

Painting Towels

#76 – Chevron Baby Blanket. I had several pastel yarns, most of which were donated to me, in my stash. I also have a friend who is having a baby, and her shower is coming up very soon. Put these together and you get this adorable chevron baby blanket.

Pastel Chevron Blanket

Pastel Chevron Blanket

Folded blanket

Folded blanket

Lastly, my DH’s grandmother (my GIL?) turned 90 this past weekend. She is a really wonderful woman. Her late husband was military, so she has lived all kinds of neat places – Hawaii, Germany, DC, and many others. She has such great stories to tell, and is so much fun to talk to. We had a sort of surprise lunch party for her, and her kids and grandkids that lived out of town come in and surprised her. So, what does one get a 90 year old woman? She doesn’t really need anything, and and she LOVES strawberries. They are her absolute favorite. It was my DH’s idea. I made her a strawberry ami. It is adorable, and was super easy to make! Plus it was huge! Almost 4 inches tall, and 3 inches wide. She loved it!

Strawberry for G-Ma

Strawberry for G-Ma

So, I am up to 77 crafts. I am excited, because I only have 23 left!!!! I have enjoyed this challenge, but I will really be glad when it is over. This is the home stretch, baby. I have 2 more things I made to share with you. They are not crafts, so I can’t count them. They were really fun though:

Strawberry Lemonade Cake – Strawberry cake, with a lemon infused whip cream frosting. The frosting didn’t look as pretty as I wanted it to, so I decorated it with some sliced strawberries. It looked sort of pretty, but tasted really good.

Strawberry Lemonade Cake

Strawberry Lemonade Cake

Summer Sangria – It is a typical Sangria recipe, with lots of berries and watermelon as the fruits. It tasted phenomenal, and I had a glass on the porch and enjoyed the summer evening! I love this time of year!

Ummer Sangria

Summer Sangria

I know this was a lengthy post, so thanks for sticking through it to the end! I hope you enjoy my projects. I know I am enjoying them.

2 thoughts on “Some Summer Craftiness

Leave a Reply

