Home » 100 craft challenge » Getting Closer and Growing as a Crafter

Getting Closer and Growing as a Crafter

Summer is such a fun time to craft. I am 16 projects away from my goal of making 100 items from materials I already had on hand, and really getting excited about finishing. I am also learning quite a bit. Recently, I found my self at the local craft store, and thought I would be really tempted to buy something. As I was looking at supplies and yarn and fabric, I found myself thinking “What will I use this for?” When I could not think of something, I put it down, and moved on. Before this challenge, I would buy fabrics or yarns if I like them, just in case I could use them later. Now, I want to buy with purpose. I am excited about this change in my crafting perspective.

#78 and 79 – Wallet and small zipper bag – My wallet broke. The zipper came right off. I had probably not constructed it correctly, since it was my first wallet ever, and I am not too sad about it breaking. It gave me the opportunity to learn how to correctly line a small zipper bag, and how to correctly install a zipper so that none of it is exposed. I made 2, accidentally. One is too big to be a wallet. I guessed on it. For the second version, I actually took a couple of credit cards out to make some measurements. That really helped to get the sizing just right. The fabric is one of my favorites. I found it and immediately bought one yard of it because I loved it so much. Something about windmills really makes me happy. I also really like how the little keyring worked out.

Wallet and Change purse

Wallet and Change purse

#80 – Owl Hat – This is a WIP that I have been holding for a while. It was complete except for the beak. I just could not find a shade of yellow that worked with the green and pink. I knew it had to exist, so I set this aside until I could find it. Turns out, when you clear out most of your yellow stash, you find the tiniest ball of the perfect shade of yellow!

Owl hat

Owl hat

#81 – Tiger hat- this is another WIP that I found needing attention. I guess another advantage to cleaning out stash, is that you eventually find WIPs you had completely forgotten existed. This one needed ears, eyes, and mouth. Luckily, I had put the orange and black yarns inside the hat, so I could match the hat precisely.

Almost finished!

Almost finished!

Adult Tiger Hat

Adult Tiger Hat Selfie

#82 – Earbud bag – I am always getting my earbuds tangled up, and then I have to spend an eternity (maybe a little less) untangling them, and by then, I no longer want to go on a walk or listen to whatever it was that made me want to get them out. That is, until I made this little gem. I found this tutorial on Pinterest. It is perfect. It fits in my purse. I learned about installing zippers, lining, sewing curves and how much thickness my sewing machine can handle. I also love the owl and zig zag fabrics I found for it.

Earbud pouch

Earbud pouch

closed earbud pouch

closed earbud pouch

#83 – Giraffe Amigurumi – This is one of my number one sellers. I just think he is so cute and fun to make. His face is just so expressive. He is one of my favorite patterns. I have never written it down, however. Perhaps I should do that and share with you soon 🙂

Giraffe

Giraffe

#84 – Cowl – I found one skein of this yarn sitting in the back of the yellow bin. It is a nice soft yarn, but more of a roving, so not very good for amis. I decided to make a twisted cowl with it. This pattern is a basic granny stripe, all in one color. I made a large rectangle, then twisted it and sewed the ends together. It is cute, and looks attractive as a mock turtleneck. Since it is particularly warm, I think it will be a great accessory this winter.

Twisted Yellow Cowl

Twisted Yellow Cowl

That brings us to 84 items out of 100! Only 16 more to go. I cannot wait to be finished, but I have learned a lot about myself and my crafting habits from this challenge. I have also busted quite a bit of my stash, which clears things out, helps me to stay organized, and makes room for more!

4 thoughts on “Getting Closer and Growing as a Crafter

Leave a Reply

