Home » 100 craft challenge » It is FINISHED!!

It is FINISHED!!

I have finally finished it! My 100 crafts from my stash are finally complete! I am terribly excited to share them with you! I have learned quite a bit from this journey, and I am really glad that I did it. At times, it was terribly frustrating to be unable to go and just buy yarn or fabric, or other supplies. I also missed the stress relief of shopping at the craft store. I will admit, I went a couple of times to my favorite one to look around, get project ideas, or be inspired. I did not buy anything for the challenge, and I am now more mindful when I do go shopping, and stick to getting supplies I need to get for crafts I am actually going to make! So, without further ado, here is the last batch of crafts from this challenge!!

#93 – scarf and hat set – These were a special order for a friend of mine from work. I have to count them as a set, because I ran out of yarn before I finished the scarf, and did have to get more. The hat is completely from stash, and I only bought enough yarn to make the rest of the scarf, and have a vey tiny ball of it left. She wanted something soft and black variegated to wear this winter.

Scarf and hat set

Scarf and hat set

By the way, this picture is taken in her super cute office. She decorated it using some really neat Pinterest ideas, which I totally need to steal from her! She loved the set, and I am really happy to make her something she will use.

#94 – Parrot Mascot – My best friend started her career as a teacher this year. She is teaching freshman English and is the Drill Team coach. I am so excited for her as she joins our profession, and I wanted to make her something she could put in her classroom. Her school’s mascot is the parrot, and their colors are orange and black, so I made her this:

Go Poly Parrots!

Go Poly Parrots!

I have been exploring some larger amigurumi, and he was the first one. He stands about 10″ tall, and is really cute and snuggly.

#95 –  Fabric Flip Flops – I recently lost a pair of black flip flops. Well, I did not so much as lose them as they broke and were no longer wearable. I had a couple of cheap ($2, I think) pairs that I was going to remake using fabric a couple of summers ago (3 years ago, I think). I finally dug those out of my craft stash, and cut the plastic part off them. I got some cute coordinating fabric and attached it using knots and a little glue. So far, I have worn them 3 times, and they are holding up fine. I am really excited about them. I also have a white pair and a pink pair to do, now that I know how it works!

Recovered flip flops

Recovered flip flops

Such a simple idea to remove the uncomfortable plastic and replace is with some cozy fabric. It’s like having new shoes, which is ALWAYS a good thing 😉 .

#96, 97, 98, and 99 – Reading Nook Pillows – Also for my friend’s classroom, she wanted a reading nook. It is a place where the kids can grab a book and a pillow and do some reading when they finish their assignments. I made her four pillows for the nook. I actually took regular bed pillows, cut them in half and sewed them up, then used the fabric she picked to make covers for them. They are eclectic and cute, and turned out really great!

Star Wars Pillow

Star Wars Pillow

Music note pillow

Music note pillow

Pretty Flowers

Pretty Flowers

Polka Dot City

Polka Dot City

They all wound up being slightly different sizes, and I think her students will enjoy getting cozy with a book on them!

And now, drum roll, please…

#100 (yea, celebrate! Imagine balloons and confetti falling from the sky!) – Enormous Dalek – This crazy huge guy stands almost a full foot tall and took me all of Labor Day weekend to complete! The pattern is by Lucy Ravenscar and can be found here on Ravelry.

IMG_2450

The instructions are very clear, and I really love her patterns. I even bought her Star Wars Pattern collection, and I love how cute they are and how quickly they work up. This dalek did not work up quickly, but he is AWESOME in his hugeness and in his details. I really love him, and he may very well be my favorite ami I have made in a while.

 

I am so relieved to be finished with this challenge, but I also value the lessons I learned from it. I am looking forward to more mindful crafting and more mindful shopping for supplies. Thanks for looking, and for supporting on this crazy, not always beautiful, journey!

8 thoughts on “It is FINISHED!!

  1. I love the flip flops! What great idea. I’m glad you’re done and can come shopping w me again!
    Love you and proud that u did this and learned from it!
    Kisses
    Mom

  2. This has been a delightful project to view from down the street. How about 101–200! You are a lady of many accomplishments.
    Love, Jane

  3. It has been really fun to watch your challenges. Thank you for my classroom gifts! The kids love Pablo (they voted on his name) and so do I!

Leave a Reply

