Home » Uncategorized » Recent projects

Recent projects

I have been quite busy crocheting up a storm the past couple of weeks. Some things have been special orders, and others are because I am working on having more inventory for my etsy shop, other things are just for fun, just for me. I am still working on it. I hope to have several items posted by the end of this month! Before I post items there, I wanted to show them off here first!

Here is a cute little fox hat I made for a friend of mine. I really need to make some more of these, they are so stinking cute!

Cute little fox hat

Cute little fox hat

I made this owl for a friend who needed a gift for a baby boy. She requested brown and blue for him. I think it turned out adorable.

Owl for baby boy

Owl for baby boy

When my husband and I went to Chicago last summer, I went to a local yarn store and bought some beautiful yarn. I have been holding it for a while, trying to figure out the perfect thing to make with it. While I haven’t figured out what the perfect thing is yet, I could not wait to make something. We have had some really chilly mornings here Texas, which means super cold ears while walking my dogs. Since this is wool, I made a headband/ear warmer to wear on those chilly morning walks! It is a simple single crochet stitch, but the variegation in the yarn makes it looks super elegant. I love it!!

Chicago yarn headband

Chicago yarn headband

While I was on a headband kick, I made another one from some really thick green yarn. It turned out really cute. I did a faux bow in the front by gathering and wrapping the front with a small piece.

Warmer front

Ear warmer front

On the back I did some front and back post stitches to create a bit of a ribbing to allow it to expand so it would fit snugly around my head.

Ear warmer back

Ear warmer back

From the same thick yarn, I made some cable crochet hand warmers. They are so cute, and very warm! I use them almost every day.

cable crochet gloves

cable crochet gloves

I found a super bulky white yarn, and I made a little hat out of it. It is the perfect size for a woman or a teenager. I will put it up for sale after I get a picture of it on an actual person 😉

IMG_2841 IMG_2842

I also made this twisty cowl from a thick, wool yarn. It is super cozy and comfy, and once again, I need a model for it before I post it in the shop. I have a couple of volunteers for the model position, lol, we just need to match up schedules. I love it because it uses a new stitch I discovered, the extended single crochet!! It has been so long since I found a new stitch and I immediately am enamored of it! Anyway, this particular cowl is made from from alternating rows of single crochet and extended single crochet. I made a long block, and then twisted it and sewed it together. I love the look of it, and it is really warm.

Cowl

Cowl

Last one – a Doctor Who TARDIS inspired hat. I am really happy with this one. I used two strands of each yarn throughout. The pom pom is made to look like the light on top. I embroidered the words “POLICE BOX” onto it, and I think it looks pretty good. Yea, Doctor Who!

TARDIS hat

TARDIS hat

Thanks for looking and allowing me to share this with you! I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed making them!

2 thoughts on “Recent projects

Leave a Reply

