Home » Uncategorized » Fun Plushies

Fun Plushies

I have been experimenting with a new medium for my stuffed toys – fleece. It feels like I am making “real” stuffed animals. It started with my nephew’s dinosaur-themed first birthday party. I wanted to get him a dino book, and stuffed animal to go with it. I could not find a stuffed dinosaur that was a generic one (not associated with a movie or game). Plus, most of them were pretty scary, and well, he was turning one. I decided I would have a go at making my own, and it turned out very cute, and very one-year-old friendly.

First dinosaur

First dinosaur

I chose the color to match one of the dinos in the book. I think he turned out quite well. I hand sewed this one, which takes a long time (well, longer than a machine), so I decided subsequent attempts would be machine sewn.

Profile view

Profile view

His eyes are sewn as well, since safety eyes should really be for ages 3+. My second attempt turned out a bit cuter, but maybe it is just because I prefer yellow, and the seams are hidden inside –

second dino

second dino

I also gave him larger eyes. I have a theory about the size of eyes being directly proportioned to the amount of cute something is. I made his tummy a bit thinner too, so his legs stand up better. I plan to make a couple more and tweak the pattern.

dino profile

dino profile

Of course, I try stuffed animals with my very own pattern first, and then do some research and find TONS of free patterns out there. So I decided to try a couple of them out. The first one is a bunny. It is a really good pattern, but I used felt instead of fleece, so his ears are a bit too large, and he is not as soft as he could be.

bunny foo foo

bunny foo foo

He is still quite cute, and his eyes are my first successful attempt at a French knot! I have been trying to master that one for quite some time! I had a bit of trouble following the pattern instructions, but I think it is due to my inexperience, rather than an issue with them.

My next project was gigantic, too big even for my photo booth, but I did have a “whale” of a time making him.

Whale

Whale

Again, he is baby safe, and so squishy and adorable. You can make your own using the tutorial found here.

so big!

so big!

Those are 18×24″ papers – he is nearly a full yard long! I love his squish factor and size. Squish factor is a technical term, of course.

I also made him a rather large buddy in a darker shade of blue.

big blue whale

big blue whale

You may be able to see, he is taking up nearly half of a six foot table.

nice eyes

nice eyes

I love how his eyes turned out, very expressive.

swimming buddies

swimming buddies

Here they are together. I am sure they will enjoy many hours of swimming together!

My favorite pattern I have made as part of this experiment has to be the foxes I made using this pattern. It is adorable, simple, and yet doesn’t look too simple. I am thinking about ways I can adapt this pattern to different animals – maybe a dog, cat, elephant? Who knows?

Best Friends!

Best Friends!

They are so cute, and I imagine they are best friends!

Orange fox

Orange fox

I really got quite a bit of experience with the applique setting on my sewing machine doing their faces. I decided to make them complimentary in color.

Brown Fox

Brown Fox

I think they both turned out quite cute. I am very pleased with this little experiment, and I am sure there are lots more to come. I just love working with new things and learning about new crafts. Ever since, I have picked up every stuffed animal I see (dog toys included) to examine their construction. Just like amis, they are basically a combination of simple shapes. I love to see simple things that work together and make a very complex whole. I hope you enjoyed this small stuffed menagerie.

Leave a Reply

